Print Smaller Fonts Larger Fonts

About us

The Money Stuff website is owned by NSW Fair Trading, a division of the Department of Finance and Services. Fair Trading’s main role is to administer consumer laws and safeguard the rights of consumers and traders in New South Wales. We also advise businesses on how to trade fairly and ethically, with the aim of achieving fairness for all in the marketplace.

Who is this site for?

Money Stuff is a website for young people between the ages of 14 and 25 and for teachers. It contains a range of free resources, tools and information for young people. The information contained on the site has been tailored to meet learning outcomes in the NSW school curriculum, to assist with teaching consumer and financial literacy.

Our history

Money Stuff is an award-winning educational resource developed by NSW Fair Trading to assist young people to prepare for independent living with a focus on employment matters, consumer rights and financial literacy. It is recognised across Australia as a best practice educational resource recommended by the Financial Literacy Foundation.

Money Stuff was initially developed in 2000 in collaboration with the Centre for Learning Innovation (the Department of Education and Training).


We’d like to acknowledge and say thank you to everyone who has been involved with Money Stuff for their invaluable contributions since its inception:

Pauline Sheppard, Tiina Hufton, Rachel Mules, Daniel Waterworth (Curriculum Support Directorate); Vanessa Wood (Youth Advisory Council, Office of Children and Young People), Narelle Brown (Ryde Eastwood Financial Counselling Service), Myriam Bahari (Youth Action Policy Association) and Sue Field (Curriculum Support Directorate); Grace Tang (Canley Vale High School), Yvonne Robinson (Hunters Hill High School), Peter Knight (Strathfield Girls High School), Susan Busato, Penny Hutton (Curriculum Support Directorate), Jim Stammel, Lyndal Hough and Vaughan Morrison (Learning Materials Production Centre, OTEN), Jan Van Dooran and Kerry Cullen (Rooty Hill High School), S. Myers and Ted Krames (Chatswood High School), Vincent Formica and Kerrie Lindsay (Blakehurst High School), and Leanne Soloman (Airds High School Campbelltown); John Tansey (Office of Children and Young People), Beth Oakley (Newcastle Grammar School), Mark Macaulay (Strathfield Girls High School), Ros Jenner (Hunters Hill High School), students at Strathfield Girls High School, Canley Vale High School, Beverly Hills High School, Hunters Hill High School, Indigo Ware-Smiles, Peter Mitchell, Heidi Green, Kate Toohey, Robert Salt, Kevin James and Mahidine Obeide; David Boccalatte, Sean Goodwin, Van Tran, Carol Walsh, Susan Cornish, Alison Woodage (DET, Centre for Learning and Innovation).

Jennifer Milligan, Ibaa Makhoul  and students from Evans High School; Noelene Barkas, Diane Paix and students from Baulkham Hills High School;  Joe Addison (Albury High School), Brett Dale (Cumberland High School), students at Albury High School, students at Cumberland High School, Hayley Diamond (Moorefield Girls High School), students at Moorefield Girls High School, Cassie Norris (Randwick Boys High School), students at Randwick Boys high School, Peter Macbeth (Bingara Central School), students at Bingara Central School.

Copyright © 2011 Money Stuff

An initiative from NSW Fair Trading


Last Updated:   

Page URL:

This information must not be relied upon as legal advice. For more information about this topic, refer to the appropriate legislation.

© State of New South Wales through NSW Fair Trading
You may freely copy, distribute, display or download this information with some important restrictions. See NSW Fair Trading's copyright policy at or email